I’m just PRing all over the place!

In addition to the half marathon, I signed up for the Six Flags Roller Coaster Race 10K in September and told myself I’d do at LEAST one 5K this summer – which I did this morning.

Two years ago I ran a 5K and clocked in at 31:28. Today? 28:06. HELL YES.

I ran the Champions of Chicopee and I think it helped that I’ve never been in Chicopee so I had a lot of scenery to look at as I ran, a great distraction. A block away from the finish line I had the sense that the end was near, so I started sprinting and rounded the corner to see a big 27 flashing on the race clock, which made me run even harder. I felt like I was front of the pack for a lot of the race (I weaved around a bunch of runners in the start and had three people pass me, but I also passed two myself), so I was interested to see where I landed in the rankings. It turns out I was 20th out of 93 people, with a pace of 9:05. UNBELIEVABLE.

The night before I bought a tank top that says “Brooklyn” on it in honor of the half, and I’m officially making it my race day shirt, for any race leading up to the half.

STILL COMIN’ FOR YA, BK.

Snapchat-2654849984722476434 (1)

Leave a Reply

