Steak+ sand art.

I have this thing where I walk into the meat section of the supermarket and, more often than not, say out loud, “What the fuck am I looking for?” And then I call my mom.

I do not know the differences in meat cuts, so though the recipe below calls for “ribeyes” I bought “boneless sirloin.” Mostly because it was cheaper….and all I could find.

So what’s the difference? In simplest explanation, the ribeye is fatty, making it a tender, juicy and flavorful piece of meat. Sirloin is lean…the opposite of ribeye. Bad choice for the grill, good choice for my wallet?

That’s all I’ve got for you….until you see THIS FANCY CHART!

CutChart_Poster_HighRes

And then I also have a recipe, of course.

 

SANDRA LEE’S SEMI-HOMEMADE BLUE CHEESE BUTTER RIBEYES

INGREDIENTS:

For steak:

  • 4 8-ounce ribeyes (or sirloin, if ya nasty)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons port wine
  • 1 tablespoon Montreal Steak Seasoning (McCormick Grill Mates makes this but, again, it’s something I couldn’t find, so I made my own!)

For steak seasoning (if you’re a poor bastard who couldn’t find it, like me):

NOTE: This makes 3/4 cup, and you only need 1 tablespoon for this recipe, so have a container handy so you can store this for future uses.

  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 tablespoons crushed black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon granulated garlic
  • 1 tablespoon granulated onion
  • 1 tablespoon dill
  • 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes

For blue cheese butter:

  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons blue cheese, crumbled

DIRECTIONS:

  • Let’s start with the steak seasoning (if you’re making it) because it was my favorite part – it made me feel like I was at the church bazaar doing sand art again. (You know what’s up my NEPA people.) Take all the above ingredients, and put ’em in a container, like so:

photo 2 (3)

 

Looks like a friggin’ landscape work of art, AMIRITE?! Thanks, steady hands, from carefully pouring rainbow-colored grit into plastic vials shaped like horses all those years.

When you’re done admiring you can then shake the shit out of it to blend.

photo 3 (1)

Well now it just looks like poo.

On to the rest of the meal!

  • Line a baking sheet or broiler pan with foil and set aside.
  • In a small bowl, combine the EVOO, Worcestershire, wine, and steak seasoning.
  • Put the steaks on a dish and prick them, making shallow holes. Pour the marinade over them and let them stand as you prepare the rest., and turn the broiler in your oven on.
  • Mash together the butter and blue cheese with a fork. If it’s tough (as in, you are doing this without reading the recipe in advance and haven’t softened the butter enough), pop it in the microwave for 15-20 seconds to soften it up.
  • Place the steaks on your lined sheet or broiler pan and broil them 4 to 6 inches from the heat. To get it medium, do it for 7 minutes on each side. A little rarer (as Boy likes it) calls for 4 to 5 minutes on each side.
  • After removing them from the oven, pour the blue butter over it, and enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

