Get down with your bag self.

Sometimes when I have a lot of leftover groceries hanging about I get bold and go off book – I just throw random shit together.

Totes did that this morning for breakfast, and employed a trick my grandmother introduced me to years ago. If you like omelettes and pancakes, you’re gonna want to stick around.

The pancakes are a no-brainer. I like to try different recipes for them whenever I can, in the hopes that I one day hit a “HOLY SHIT THAT IS  A PAAANCAKE” moment. I’ve come close – but nothing so exciting yet. This recipe, however, is the closest thus far.

The real focus here is the omelette.

There was a nary a time I’d hang out with my gram and not be astounded by something she did. She blew my mind the day she introduced me to the cheater’s omelette. No flipping required, bitch – YOU BOIL IT IN A BAG.

I understand that this method may freak some people out. In fact, when I pitched this in my early days at the Times Leader I was met with skepticism. How safe is it to boil this in a bag? Well, I’ve eaten at least a dozen throughout my life span and I’m still here, so do with that what you will.

Apparently, this is a favored method among campers. Since the last time I saw an overnight stay outdoors it resulted in me peeing on my own shorts, I will most likely be confining this maneuver to the kitchen.

BAGGIE BOILED OMELETTE

Yields 1 per bag

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 eggs (that’s what I use for a single omelette, use what you like)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Any type of omelette addition, such as ham, cheese, bacon, etc.
  • Gallon freezer Ziploc bag

 

In this case, my rando kitchen items were smoked deli ham and Harvati dill cheese. Harvati is a semi-soft Danish cow’s milk cheese. Harvati is a bit buttery in taste, so the sharpness of the dill helps offset that beautifully.

Om 1

DIRECTIONS:

  • Fill a large pot 3/4 full with water and bring it to a rolling boil. While it’s boiling, assemble your omelette.
  • I chopped the ham and cheese up pretty fine and threw them in a bowl with salt, pepper and eggs.
  • Beat everything together.

Om 2

 

  • Pour all of it into a gallon freezer bag. Do not use a sandwich bag. I did that this time around to see what would happen and it took a lot longer to cook. (And the omelettes looked fat and weird.)

Om 3

  • Once that water is a rollin’, drop the bag(s) in. In a large pot, you could probably do 3 or 4 at a time.
  • Let them boil for 13 minutes.
  • Remove (bag will be hot!) and simply open the bag and slide that sucker out on a plate.

Om 4

 

If you have kids, I would imagine this is an awesome way to spend a Sunday morning! Let ’em pick ingredients and mix it however they want; they can’t really fuck anything up, right? That’s what I assume kids do forever, anyway, so, yea. Not this time.

Happy Sunday Fun Day!

 NOTE: Totally just got some feedback from Facebook on this from a former teacher of mine who is simply awesome – she said, “If you wanted you could just have the kids smoosh the eggs etc in the bag, shake it up etc. grosser the better.”

This is probably an even more fun way to do it. HAVE AT IT!

Leave a Reply

