The Holy Grail.

 

 

If there is one thing I adore about Japanese restaurants, it’s the freaking SALAD DRESSING. Honestly, how good is it? Ginger, orange – it tastes like candy. I always said to myself, “If I had this at home, I would actually eat salad for breakfast, lunch and dinner.” It would make my general disdain for veggies fade into the background. I’ve always wanted to try to make it – AND I HAVE ACCOMPLISHED THAT TASK.

And it looks nothing like what you’d expect, but, alas, it has the taste. And I even omitted an ingredient because a bottle of peanut oil is 5 fucking dollars. FIVE. That’s highway robbery.

IMG_1201.JPG

 

I got the recipe from Top Secret Recipes after considering many results from my Google search. For some reason, none of them felt right when I was reading the ingredients. This one is a copy from Benihana, which I have never been to, but there’s a touch of fate here: A comment in the comments section reads:

“…very similar to to the ginger dressing at our favorite Sushi place in Wilkes barre, pa, Katana”

That’s the place I had this dressing for the first time ever.

And so I made a batch that amounts to about a cup and a half, making some modifications along the way. Here’s my version:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon powdered ginger (which is what makes the color)
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 4 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 baby carrots, finely chopped
  • dash of black pepper

Combine this all in a food processor/blender, and chill.

One thought on “The Holy Grail.

Leave a Reply

