Christ.

I don’t even know why I have that reaction any more. I should be numb to the point of just eye rolling now, and yet that solitary word, tinged with exasperation, was my exact reaction to the first released image of Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in “Batman versus Superman.”

.

20140726-235026-85826017.jpg

My reaction has nothing to do with the actress herself.

My reaction has nothing to do with the fact that Batman and Superman are my LEAST favorite (mainstream) superheroes.

It has to do with the fact that this – and every other rendition of her I’ve seen – is so muted. It’s so boring.

Look, I know it’s not the 60s and 70s anymore and primary color comic pages are a thing of the past, but this just furthers the thought that DC seems to be afraid of color.

Why is everything so dark?

They put purple hued pants on Mark Ruffalo.

Some incarnations of Cap kept bright hues.

Why are we stripping Diana of certain things and turning her into Xena?

She looks like a girl chomping at the bit on “America’s Next Top Model.” I want to see her dirty and banged up and IMPOSING LOOKING. Gal has worked hard to change her body for this, you can see it, but the way they’re portraying her (at least right now) isn’t really doing much for the Amazonian effect.

I am all for a re-imagining to get with the times, but nothing about this screams WONDER WOMAN like some of the other re-imagined superhero suits do for their counterparts.

Joss, I wish you could have kept at this project. You would have knocked it out of the park.

I guess I should just be excited she isn’t wearing pants.

Leave a Reply

