Welcome home.

I’m not even sure where to begin.

We’re here. We’ve been here for a week now and it has been AMAZING.

The day we moved in, last Saturday, didn’t go EXACTLY as planned. The travels were wonderful, but the movers? Well, they didn’t show up until two-and-a-half hours after they were originally supposed to.

That’s ok, though, because we moved what we could without straining ourselves and when the movers DID get here, well, they really kicked the shit out of that moving van. They probably had everything in the apartment in about an hour and a half.

It was emotional, that Friday. I said goodbye to Kelley, who ran off the porch after exclaiming, “Ok, I’m starting to cry, I’m going!”

But it’s ok, because I realized that I am downright AWFUL at goodbyes.

The worst was Joanne. She and I had been spending so much time together pre-move it was like saying goodbye to an appendage when I left. We hugged, long and hard, and shed a lot of tears.

Ah, but it’s all for the better. It’s all for this new life, this life we’re building together in this gorgeous town of Amherst, surrounded by equally stunning towns brimming with things to see and do.

I took full advantage of that last week, as I took a week off from work to not only unpack, but explore at will. And I did, and Boy and I both did this weekend, but I’ll get to that in a bit (it carries with it a LOT of food, ha). But for now, have a look around. 🙂

We’ll start with my favorite place of ever anywhere: the kitchen. It may seem a little small but, quite honestly, I love this type of working space. I can whip around and whatever I need is at my fingertips. Plus there is PLENTY of cabinet space, and check out that dishwasher. I HAVE A DISHWASHER. I have never had one in my entire life. And you bet your ass I’ve been running it every day since we moved in.

kitchen 2 kitchen 1

I’ve decided to name our dining area (which spills right into the living room) our “found objects” area. You can’t see too much of it here, but that left corner contains an amazing end table made out of a suitcase, a typewriter, and a quill and ink, and the corner opposite it has two navy trunks with a globe perched on top. I need to find a permanent home for my record player and I’m thinking some atlases for the walls, and we’ll have something awesome. I’m also attempting a red/yellow/blue theme between this and the living room, and I’m hoping it translate nicely once I have more decor to work with.

kitchen

And here you have our VERY open living room, and a window I adore. Obviously it’s huge, and lets in a ton of natural light. That coffee table in the center is from Boy’s Nan’s house, and it looks like a little fire pit. We’ve done a mix of browns and blacks in this area (which I never thought I’d be ok with), and are planning on adorning the walls with Red Sox prints, photos of the Kennedy family, and really anything that has to do with Massachusetts as a whole.

living room

I never thought I’d be so in love with white furniture. She of all things dark and dreary is trying to stray from that this time around, and I think we’ve really accomplished it here. The palette I’m striving for is light grey, mint, and lilac. We’re getting there.

bedroomAnd last but not least – and this, my friends, stays our secret – the bathroom. Which has a shower curtain I think is so ugly, and a bath mat that makes the entire thing even uglier and harkens to the shag rug obsession of the 70s. “Then why does it look like this?”, you may ask. Because I let Boy pick it out. I can’t take over EVERYTHING in this house, you know. And I must admit – it’s growing on me.

bathroom

Leave a Reply

