I’m all butt hurt, physically and emotionally.

WOD

4 rounds:

2 fence and backs

7 double bar jump burpees

12 thrusters@95/65

I just. Yea. I mean I’m normally like “Ow” after WODs because they are a workout. But doing it with a bruised/cracked/I don’t know what tailbone?

I felt awful today; uncomfortable, even. But, I was told this, and I think it’s true, shoddy tailbone or not.

get comfy

 

I could probably find you an article right now about the emotional effect such physical activity has on a person, but what the hell is something scientific going to do when I can actually tell you because I know firsthand?

Let me start this off by telling you that I have never, ever in my life been one to go to the gym because I found it too embarrassing and anxiety-inducing. I felt like everyone was staring at me and thinking of how dumb I was because I had no clue what I was doing. So I just never went.

So take a person like that – or no, take pretty muchΒ any human being – and throw them in a situation where it’s close quarters, new movements on the daily, and a coach right up in your business watching what you do. It’s. Scary. And emotionally draining.

I wonder if I’m doing things right, I wonder who’s watching, and the whole time I’m dealing with muscles that just don’t want to go any more and a mind that wants to go on even less. For the past two times I’ve left the box I cried in my car on the way home. This is no one’s fault, not even mine.

I have come to the realization that most days in the box are going to be days in which I want to hide under a rock, and that’s only because I’m blasting away the walls of my comfort zone. I might one day get used to it and I might not. But, there’s a balance in all of this.

When that initial wave of yuck is over, there comes a glorious tide of HOLY SHIT I DID IT. You run through the WOD in your mind and you realize that you did something you have never before done, and it has made you better and stronger. It may not have been perfect, you may not have been the best – but doing something beats doing nothing at all.

Don’t believe me? This perfectly encapsulates a day at the box.

Leave a Reply

