A pain in the ass. No, I’m serious.

Roller derby.

My god, it is AWESOME. And the fact that I was recently certified to move up a level that involves things like hip whips, blocking and hitting – well, it just got a hell of a lot more fun.

Until tonight.

We were doing drills with the vets where you had to start at the same line and when you reached a certain point at cones, hit each other and one person’s job was to force the other’s to the side of the rink. One vet laid right into me and I laid right into the very hard wooden floor, landing directly on my tailbone. My legs went numb for a split second, I could not catch my breath, and I wanted to start crying.

Instead, I got back up and did the drill two more times before they blew the whistle on it. Then it was time for us purple ducks (the level I’m currently at before becoming a bout-eligible rookie) to split off from the group and work on our skills.

Except, I couldn’t. I had to sit down and, actually, it wasn’t sitting because my VERY hurt ass wouldn’t allow me to sit. I wanted to cry, watching the other girls learn whipping and skate fucking (yes, this is an actual derby thing), and I was sitting there like an invalid. A very scared one, who knew hitting was going to happen, but never thought it would be like this.

Leave a Reply

