a recipe win: roasted red pepper and goat cheese alfredo.

“Goat cheese!” they said. “Why, yes,” I said, and then I spent 45 minutes in the Cheese Shop at Wegman’s.

I can’t help it, ok? I love cheese. I currently have mozzarella, a block of parmesan, Parmigiano-Reggiano, Jarlsberg, garlic and herb goat, American, cheddar, and Laughing Cow triangles in my fridge. JUDGE ME. 

Anyway, couple this with the fact that I’m really good at burning things and you’ve got my new favorite recipe: roasted red pepper and goat cheese alfredo. 

(Insert yummy picture here. I took one with my phone but then my phone crashed so, no photo. Check out the blog I got this from though to see what this looks like. Her one photo sells it way better than I probably ever could.)

This is so easy and fun and yummy; I highly recommend. It also yields two large servings.

Boil up some pasta of your choice. I used Fettuccine noodles.

The next step in this process is to do my specialty of burning things in the oven by roasting some red peppers. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees and place the peppers on a baking sheet, baking 20 to 30 minutes until charred. Side note: your kitchen is going to smell awesome.

When you remove them from the oven place them in a bowl and cover them with tin foil. Let ‘em sit for about 10 minutes so that the skin shrivels in on itself even more, making it easier to peel off.

I’m going to tell you to do other steps while you wait for that ten minutes to be up. If you’re still in the middle of making sauce and the ten minutes is up, uncover the peppers even though you aren’t going to touch them yet. Those mothers are super hot and you should give them ample time to cool off before putting your hands in them. I didn’t, and so I spent five minutes running my right hand under water while cursing every vegetable known to man.

After you deal with your pepper situation, sauté some onions and garlic in olive oil until they’re tender over a low heat. I can’t lie to you, I’m not big on chopping onions and/or garlic, plus I don’t like onion, so I just used my handy jar of minced garlic and got rid of the onion altogether. If you do do this, just heat up the oil a bit and drop the minced garlic in, then stir it around in the pan for like a minute or two, just to get it warm. Otherwise, do the 7 minute thing.

I’m just gonna say this here because it’s really important when dealing with a cheese sauce and, unfortunately, something I learned entirely too late when I was attempting to make birthday dinner for Boy last year: Make cheese sauces on LOW HEAT. Otherwise that shit is going to curdle and you’re going to hate your stove, your pan, the element of fire, your life, whatever.

That being said, throw in some goat cheese, half and half, and salt and pepper. Stir until it’s melted and keep it on low heat, stirring occasionally.

While that’s simmering go back to your peppers. Peel off the skin and remove the stems and seeds. (My next favorite thing to do after pitting avocados. I just love gutting things. Totally take that the wrong way.)

Chop the peppers up, throw them and some freshly grated parmesan into the pan with the sauce and stir OVER LOW HEAT until the cheese melts.

Pour the sauce into a food processor and puree, or use an immersion blender. I broke my food processor making that stupid soup, so I used the blender normally delegated to making my margaritas and it worked just fine. Yes, I am a functioning alcoholic.

After you puree the sauce up to a texture of your liking put it in a pot or pan with the cooked pasta and heat it all up together. You can garnish with some extra parm if you like, which I totally did because, hello, cheese.

This came out great the first time, though not as spicy as I expected. I think next time I’m going to throw some sort of spice in it. Chipotle? Cayanne? More red peppers? We’ll see.

From Lauren’s Latest, a wonderful blog with tons of killer recipes.

 

Roasted Red Pepper & Goat Cheese Alfredo

  • 2 whole red bell peppers
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup fat free half & half
  • 4 oz. garlic & herb goat cheese
  • 2/3 cup grated parigiano reggiano cheese
  • 1/2 cup artichoke hearts (optional)
  • 1/2 lb. linguine, cooked to al dente
  • salt & pepper, to taste

-Boil some pasta.

- Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Place red peppers on baking sheet and bake 20-30 minutes until peppers are charred. Remove from oven and cover with foil 10 minutes.

- In the mean time, saute onions and garlic in olive oil 7 minutes or until tender. Pour in half & half, goat cheese, salt & pepper. Stir to melt goat cheese into sauce and keep warm over low heat.

- Uncover peppers, peel off skin and remove stem and seeds. Chop into large pieces and place into sauce along with parmesan cheese. Stir to melt cheese and remove from heat. Pour sauce into food processor and puree, or use an immersion blender. Place back into hot pan and toss with cooked pasta. Taste and adjust seasonings. Top with more parmesan cheese, pepper, salt and parsley, if desired.

2 thoughts on “a recipe win: roasted red pepper and goat cheese alfredo.

Leave a Reply

